Preheader Home Page Get A Quote About Us BLog Contact Us

 

Header Insurance Insurance Insurance Insurance
 

Did you know that you might have to report your car accident to the DMV? Most people forget this step because they are unaware of it. You have to report the accident to the DMV if there was property damage of more than $750, or an injury or death occurred.

It is very important to follow through the proper procedures when you have been in an accident.

Step 1: Breathe

Step 2: Call your local authorities to document the accident

Step 3:
Contact your insurance agent (Kipper Insurance) and report the accident

Step 4: If it is necessary, report the accident and details to the DMV

Step 5:
Take another breathe, everything will be okay

In the chaos of a car accident, all of those simple steps and procedures get lost in the panic of the moment. Remember to remain calm and listen to what your insurance agent instructs you to do. Remain in a safe area until law enforcement has arrived on the scene and do not make matter worse by getting angry. Fighting or arguing with the other person involved in the accident will only increase your blood pressure and make the situation ten times worse.

For Californian drivers, this is what the DMV requires:

Under California Vehicle Code section 16004 (a) each driver must submit a Traffic Accident Report to DMV within 10 days. The accident report is required whether or not you were at fault or if the accident occurred on private property.

You can read the California Driver Handbook "Reporting The Accident To DMV." for additional information.

Information you will need to complete this form:

  • Date of the accident
  • Time of the accident
  • Location of the accident

Following is information needed for both parties

  • Name of driver
  • Driver license number
  • Vehicle information (year, make, plate number or VIN)
  • Insurance information (located on insurance card)
    • Company name (not the agent or broker)
    • Policy number
    • Policy Period
    • Policy holder

Information needed for injury/death or property damage

  • Name and address
  • Property damaged (mailbox, fence, livestock, etc.)

This E-Form requires you to be a certified customer prior to accessing and submitting these forms. For more information on becoming a certified customer, please refer to the following link.

Share |


No Comments


Post a Comment
Name
Required
E-Mail
Required (Not Displayed)
Comment
Required


All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Required
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
 
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive


View Mobile Version
Get A Quote File a Claim Contact Us
  Blog RSS Feed Facebook Twitter LinkedIn